The Villages Genealogical Society

From Our President

Dear Friends of Family History:
Jim's Image
Welcome to the official website of The Villages Genealogical Society, the largest Society of its type in the State of Florida. We have served The Villages in the Central Florida Counties of Sumter, Lake and Marion since our founding in 1993. We operate as a nonprofit organization under Internal Revenue Code section 501(c)(3).
Our purpose, as stated in our By-Laws, is “to promote and stimulate knowledge and interest in the study of genealogy; to provide for exchange of information among members; and to provide educational programs and workshops that will assist our members in their genealogical research.”
Additionally, The Villages Genealogical Society has a mission to serve the larger community. We have endeavored to support the development of genealogical resources in our area libraries. This has included the purchase of books and periodicals (both paper and electronic), as well as making donations to help purchase equipment to be used for genealogical research.
The Villages Genealogical Society meets the fourth Wednesday of the month in the Savannah Recreational Center at 10:00 a.m. We are on hiatus in December during the Holiday season, and offer workshops during the summer months. Many of the presentations at these meetings are made by speakers who are prominent nationally in the field of genealogy. We also have more than a dozen Special Interest Groups which focus on various areas of genealogical concentration. The SIGs meet monthly, many year-round. Meeting times and locations are posted on the website on our Home page and the Events page. Members also receive by email our monthly newsletter, which contains genealogical tips and articles, Society news and events, and other information of interest to our members.
If you are a resident of The Villages, Florida, with an interest in Family History, we invite you to join our Society or attend one of our meetings.

James R. Lannin, Jr.

President: Mr. James R. Lannin, Jr.
Vice-President: Ms. Pat Adams
Secretary: Ms. Sharon Meyer
Treasurer: Ms. Ruth Wible
Historian: Ms. Jan Reinhart
Librarian: Mrs. Donna Yambasky
Membership Chair: Ms. Pat Otterberg
Newsletter Editor: Mr. Bob Boerst
Program Chair: Ms. Pat Adams
Publicity Chair: Ms. Ann Peterson
Social Media Chair: Mrs. Diann LaRosa
Special Interest Group Chair: Mr. Dale Heins
Webmaster: Mr. John DeAngelo, Sr.
Support Staff
Seminar Coordinator-Registrar: Mr. Mike Garvin
Printing: Ms. Phyllis Sample